News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

1976 Starcraft Galaxy 6 - what is fair price?

Started by llamahed, Mar 11, 2009, 11:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

llamahed

I am looking to purchase our first PUP.  
Found a listing for this trailer in Excellent condition, garage stored.  Asking price is $2299.

It seems high to me for a trailer this old - but I'm a newbie.

What is a fair price???    
Are these trailers difficult to maintain?
Would we have a problem towing with our 04 Isuzu Rodeo (tow rating to 4500lbs)?

Many thanks for your input!

~Aileen

Jim K in PA

Welcome to PUT llamahed!

Is it this one? http://losangeles.craigslist.org/ant/rvs/1069385594.html

It looks clean, but pictures can be deceiving.  If it is in as good shape as claimed, it is certainly worth considering.  As far as price, it depends on what it is worth to YOU!  I have seen newer campers with more features sell for less, but that does not mean this one is not worth the asking price, or at least a reasonable offer near it.  Once you start looking at other pop ups in the sub-$2000 price range, you will see quite a lot of "rough" campers for sale.  

Best of luck.

ScouterMom

I have a 1973 Starcraft of much the same size, and amenities.  Mine was in considerably worse shape than that one and I probably overpaid for it at $400. That one is in amazingly great shape, but I'd still think that $2000 for a 30+ yr old camper was alot of money.  Some things 'wear' even if they aren't used and garage kept, so I would look it over very carefully.  

Some other things to look at and consider -